An Experiment: Reading a Story Aloud

Having just gotten back from seeing Garrison Keillor’s last show with A Prairie Home Companion and in the spirit of oral storytelling, I am launching an experiment tonight. I have included a link to me reading one of my flash fiction stories. This is only a little over three minutes long. I am doing it because one of my student suggested that I try this. Please let me know if you like this sort of thing or not. I am looking for honest opinions.

Here you go:

12 thoughts on “An Experiment: Reading a Story Aloud”

  1. Hi, Len. Wonderful to see and hear you. Love it. You can read to me anytime. It helped that I know this story. Usually, I need of have the words in front of me to follow along. ❤ Have I mentioned, I LOVE this story?

  2. The recording of this story made it come alive for me; the genuine, subtle inflections defined the age of the story’s narrator and added warm nostalgia to the girl’s memory.

  3. Well done, Len. I’d read the story earlier so part of the surprise was gone but I really liked the story and your story reading/telling skills are far beyond mine. I have to admit, though, that I’m not a “listener” so much as a reader. Generally, if I listen to a story I quickly zone out and am gone and miss most of the story. Because this one was so short, I didn’t so I got to enjoy your effort.

Leave a Reply

