Repost: Rosemary-Lemon Chicken Cooked in a Clay Pot

I am reposting this recipe of chicken prepared in a clay pot because I just gave daughter Rachael a Romertopf clay pot.  I think she might appreciate some guidance on how to use it.  These pots are great at producing foolproof meat that is very moist.  You simply soak the pot first for fifteen minutes then place it in a cold oven before turning on the heat.  The moisture from the pot permeates the meat.

Here you go. Happy cooking.

Rosemary-Lemon Chicken

Ingredients

1 (3 1/2-pound) fryer chicken
1 lemon
1 onion
3 cloves garlic
several sprigs fresh rosemary
1 3/4 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil

Directions

Prepare a clay roaster by soaking in cold water for 15 minutes.

Wash the chicken well inside and out under cool running water. Pat dry with paper towels. Rub chicken all over with the olive oil and season evenly on all sides with the salt and pepper. Squeeze 1/2 the lemon juice on the outside of the chicken and then place the remaining lemon inside the chicken cavity along with the onion, cloves of garlic and rosemary. Place the chicken inside the prepared clay roaster. Cover the roaster and transfer to a cold oven. Set the oven temperature to 400 degrees F and cook for 1 hour 35 minutes.

I bought a Romertopf clay pot at an estate sale though they are available new via Amazon. The woman who sold me the pot said her husband had been a chef and he owned several specifically for the cooking of meat. You can learn more about them at this link.

http://www.romertopfdirect.com/Romertopf-Recipes

clay pot

8 thoughts on “Repost: Rosemary-Lemon Chicken Cooked in a Clay Pot”

  1. I have made chicken similarly except for the clay pot. For years, I’ve been meaning to get one but still have not. Thanks for the poke, Len. I’m going to get serious now. I ‘wash’ the chicken with the juice of the lemon inside and out and put the squeezed halves inside the cavity. The meat has such a delicious lemony taste next to the bone inside. ❤

      1. Everything’s worth a try. I L>O>V>E> trying new recipes and new food ideas. Does it have anything to do with the fact food is my star focus? Sure I have lots of other interests, but this one will never get OLD. Ha ha ha ha ha.

  2. I use to have a clay pot cooker and it lasted one or two meals before I broke it. And it was a gift, too! Darn it! But it sure worked great and if I still cooked much at all I might consider getting one again after reading this post.

  3. Thanks Len, for the recipe and the link. I can’t even remember how long ago I bought my Romertopf. It was back when they were a “new” thing; I didn’t even know you could still buy them. I use it occasionally but now, with all these recipes I’ll be using it more.

Leave a Reply

