Smattering of Favorite Music: 1960 – 1969

I was thinking about the music that I associate with growing up. There is a lot that comes to mind, but I thought I might just put together a few songs that bring back big memories from my childhood and adolescence. This will be far from definitive, but it a spattering of what life sounded like in the 1960’s for this small town Texas girl. Here goes:

Here is Joan Baez singing “Silver Dagger.” This is 1960 and I was 7 years old. I learned every song on this album and sang most of them to my children when they were growing up.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=joan+baez+silver+dagger

Then Peter, Paul and Mary came to serenade me in 1962 with “Lemon Tree,” and I learned many of these songs, too. I was a 9-year-old obsessed with folk music by this time.

Of course, then came Bob Dylan with “Mr. Tambourine Man” in 1964. I was 11 by now.

Then in 1965 came The Beatles’ “Rubber Soul” album with “Norwegian Wood.”

Then in a switch, here are the Beach Boys, “God Only Knows, which was recorded in 1966.

But there was a major shift in 1967 with these songs:

Jefferson Airplane’s “Somebody to Love:”

The Doors’ “LIght My Fire:”

Buffalo Springfield’s “Lonely People:”

The Beatles’ “A Day in the LIfe:”

Then 1968 hit and there were several:

Marvin Gaye’s “Heard It Through the Grapevine:”

Jimi Hendrix’s “All Along the Watchtower:”

Cream’s “Crossroads:”

The Beatles’ “Hey Jude:”

Then in 1969:

Crosby, Stills, Nash’s “Judy Blue Eyes:”

The Beatles’ “Because:”

I could go on and on, but I must admit I’m getting tired. Now I realize how music-rich the 60’s was. I haven’t even gotten started, to tell you the truth.

But this will have to do for tonight.

Happy listening, my friends.

3 thoughts on “Smattering of Favorite Music: 1960 – 1969”

Leave a Reply

