The Gift of Calm

I am sitting in a cocoon of a room, the moss-green curtains drawn, shutting out the night. Ironically, the back door is wide open. Crickets are chirping in a steady endless rhythm.

I am breathing deep as my week draws to an end. A too-full schedule that let’s me know that slowing down is a necessity. Life is not enjoyed at a break-neck pace.

I want to drink in the peace of living, not rush past at full speed. Slowing my breath will help slow my life. I know this is true.

Gratitude is my watchword. Love cradles me.

My aim is to recognize the beauty of rest; to relish the gift of calm.

.

3 Comments

  1. April 20, 2012 at 8:51 am

    What a novel idea; slowing down. I hope you get to do so for a while. I’m too busy today but wish I could do the same.

  2. May 14, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    [...] The Gift of Calm (lenleatherwood.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 572 other followers

